News‎ > ‎

Club Notes: 17th July 2016

posted Jul 22, 2016, 1:11 PM by Mark Baldwin
Notaí CLG Tulach an Iarainn sponsored by McGrath's chemist.

Photo shows Tallow Junior hurlers who defeated Ballyduff in the junior championship in Lismore.

Tallow GAA lotto sponsored by Kearney's Restaurant Tallow
Numbers drawn were: 2, 5, 7, 16
No winner
Consolation prizes: Joanne Sheehan, Josh Geary, Noel O Connor, Sheila Fraser
Promoter: Colin Cunningham
Next draw: Corner House July 25th
Jackpot: €8,600

Our weekly lotto tickets are available to purchase from any of the promoters or any businesses around the town. Please support our local lotto. Tickets are €2.

All Ireland Quarter Final
Wishing the very best of luck to Thomas Ryan and all of the Waterford Senior hurling panel when they take on Wexford this Sunday, in Thurles. Thrown in is at 2pm.

Well Done
Waterford under 21s had a comprehensive win over Clare in Walsh Park on Wednesday last. They are now through to a Munster final where they will play Tipperary. Well done to our own Jordan Henley who had a fantastic game in goals. 

Our Junior footballers will play Sliabh Gua in Cappoquin this Saturday the 23rd at 7.30pm. Please support. 

Junior Football Championship:
Tallow 0-8 Colligan 1-9

Nondescript might be a bit harsh but this championship clash between Tallow and Colligan Friday
night was uninspiring to say the least. On balance Tallow may have had enough opportunities to
prevail but at times when points were on offer we didn’t go for them. Colligan made better use of possession and took their chances when presented.

The first half was evenly balanced until Colligan found the net just before the break to put them 1-7
to 4 points ahead. Given the paucity of scores that followed, this was a crucial goal and a considerable lead.

Tallow added 4 points in the second half with Colligan managing just 2. That tells its own story. Let’s
move on.

Tallow: David Tobin, Alan Curley, Bob McCarthy, Jack Tobin, Kevin Henley, Shaun O Sullivan, Jake
Beecher, Mikey Curley (0-1), Ryan Grey (0-1f), Sean Gleeson(0-1), Donnchadh Mulcahy (0-2),Tommy
Daly, Stuart Barry (0-3), Mikey Tobin, Martin Murphy, Terence McSweeney, Alan Buckley, Kieran
Fraser, Brian Henley, Evan Sheehan.
Hard enough to pick a man of the match out of this but my vote goes to Stuart for his 3 point contribution. No further fixture at time of writing.